Design 50 2013 / by Carlos Segura

We at Segura are extremely honored to be named one of the "Design 50: Who Shapes Chicago" by NewCity.

NewCity was founded by Brian Hieggelke and has been Chicago's cultural bible for more than 27 years. Newcity Design is their web site dedicated to news, reviews and features about Chicago’s fashion, home, architecture, graphic and product design world and in the March 22nd Issue names us as one of the Design 50 who have helped shape Chicago, along with...

Jeanne Gang - Founder and Principal of Studio Gang Architects
Jon Cotay, Eric Hsueh and Erikka Wang - Owners of Akira
Gordon and Carole Segal - Founders of Crate & Barrel
Nate Berkus - Principal of Nate Berkus Associates
John H. Brennen III - Executive Vice President of the Design Center Division at the Merchandise Mart
Dana Arnett - CEO at VSA Partners
Jake Nickell - CEO at Threadless
Desiree Rogers - Chief Executive Officer at Johnson Publishing Company
Helmut Jahn - CEO at Jahn
Ikram Goldman - Owner of Ikram
Tavi Gevinson - Blogger at Style Rookie
Shane Gabier and Chris Peters - Designers at Creatures of the Wind
Corri McFadden - Founder of eDrop-Off and star of “House of Consignment”
Mark Lyman - Founding Director of The Sculptural Objects Functional Art and Design fair (SOFA)
Jason Fried - Co-founder and CEO of 37signals (also proud to be mentioned here)
Cody Hudson - Founder of Struggle Inc.
Holly Hunt - President and CEO of Holly Hunt
Adrian Smith - Founding Partner of Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture
Brian Spaly - CEO of Trunk Club Men’s Outfitters
Susie Daly - Co-founder and Director of Renegade Craft Fair
Don Rosenwinkel - President and CEO of Big Monster Toys
Scott Wilson - Founder and principal designer at MINIMAL
John Ronan - Lead Designer and Founding Principal at John Ronan Architects
Kara Mann - Principal at Kara Mann Design
Stanley Tigerman - Principal at Tigerman McCurry
Jim Coudal - Founder of Coudal Partners
Wiel Arets - Dean at IIT College of Architecture
Nick Cave - Chair of Fashion Design at School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Rick Valicenti - Founder and Design Director of Thirst
Richard Wright - Director at Wright
Zoë Ryan - Curator of Architecture and Design at the Art Institute of Chicago
Jane Stewart - President at Factor Women Model Management
April Francis - Founder of Dose Market and The Haute Closet
Ashley Zisook - Owner of Sofia
Jill Shimabukuro - Design & Production Director at The University of Chicago Press
Amy Olson - Interim Director at Chicago Fashion Incubator
Monica Pedersen - Interior Designer and HGTV host
Andrea Schwartz - VP of Media Relations and Cause Marketing at Macy’s North & Midwest Regions
Jane Rodak - Owner of Salvage One
Dirk Denison - Founder of Dirk Denison Architects
Ann Hickey - Fashion Community Liaison of the City of Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE)
Lana Bramlette - Founder and Designer of Lana Jewelry
Morlen Sinoway - Principal of Morlen Sinoway Atelier
Dawn Hancock - Founder and Managing Director at Firebelly
Nena Ivon - Co-Founder of TalksChic
Robin Richman - Owner of Robin Richman
Jason Pickleman - Owner of JNL Graphic Design
James Goggin - Chief Designer at the Museum of Contemporary Art
Kirby and Whitney Kerr - Owners of Rotofugi